Indian Point Decommissioning Oversight Board Administration

On December 31, 2020, the Department of Public Service established the Indian Point Decommissioning Oversight Board (DOB) to advise on and assess how to protect the financial, environmental, and physical interests of the communities affected by decommissioning, including the interests of the current workforce as it relates to continuing the public safety of the surrounding communities.

Indian Point DOB Bylaws

(Opens in new tab)

Members of the Board

Tom Congdon, Chair
John Sipos, Counsel
Tom Kaczmarek, Executive Director

State Representatives

Mike Mastroianni, Assistant Secretary for Education
Senator Peter Harckham
Assemblywoman Dana Levenberg
Kelly Turturro, Department of Environmental Conservation
Rachel Adler, Department of Labor
Mark Pattison, Department of State
Mark Massaroni, Department of Taxation and Finance
Jennifer Wacha, Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services
Tom Scaglione, Empire State Development
Joe Leary, New York Power Authority
Alyse Peterson, New York State Energy Research and Development Authority


Environmental and Technical Experts

David Lochbaum, Nuclear Engineer (ret.)
Richard Webster, Riverkeeper

Local Representatives

Rich Becker, Supervisor, Town of Cortlandt
Theresa Knickerbocker, Mayor, Village of Buchanan
Susan Spear, Deputy Commissioner of Emergency Services, Westchester County
Catherine Borgia, Westchester Co. Board of Legislators
Colin Smith, Westchester Co. Board of Legislators
Joseph Hochreiter, Superintendent, Hendrick Hudson School District


Labor Representatives

Lou Picani, President, Teamsters Local 456
Bill Smith, Vice President, Utility Workers Union of America Local 1-2
Thomas Carey, President, Westchester Putnam Central Labor Council


Task Force Archive

On June 9, 2021, the Department of Public Service (DPS) opened Matter # 21-01188 to manage all documents, meeting notices, public comments, and other matters related to the Indian Point Closure Task Force and Indian Point Decommissioning Oversight Board. Any documents and comments filed between May 9, 2017 and June 9, 2021 pertaining to the Indian Point Closure Task Force have been archived and are available on the DPS website under Matter # 17-00994 or by clicking the button below.

(Opens in new tab)